Permission Sets Editor

In The Welkin Suite, you're able not only to assign different permission sets to users but also to modify them as you need right now. All functionality is available via a simple Permission Sets editor Permission Sets editor. To get access to this functionality, open a necessary permission set file. You'll get the Permission Sets editor in the upper part of the split editor.

You can easily switch between the tab and the editor using tabs. To change the position of the editor or a tab, click on the Convert button. In addition, you can collapse the lower part completely — just click on the double down arrows in the top right corner of it.


Permission Sets Editor


The Permission Sets editor is divided into two parts. On the left, there are the categories with all sub-items (if any). Click on an arrow next to the category name to see the sub-categories it includes. You can only use the Filter text input above the list to quickly find a necessary item. Just start type, and all the categories will be filtered to only those include your search request. Select a necessary permission set to have the ability to edit it.

Editing Permissions

Usual Permissions

When you selected a necessary permission set, in the right part of the editor you can see the table-like view of options in the selected permission. The content of this part usually consists of three columns:

  • Permission Name — the list with all permissions in a set in an alphabetical order. Above the list, you can find the Filter input — start type to filter the list to match your search request. In addition, you can use the filter filter button to precisely select items from the list. Next to the permission's name, you can see the indications of relations between permission:
    • Required by Required by arrow — indicates, that this permission is required by some other ones. Click on the arrow to open the list,
    • Depends on Depends on arrow — indicates, that this permission requires some other ones. Clicking on the arrow will collapse the list of dependencies to the lower level.
  • Enabled — checkboxes that indicate if the permission is enabled in the permission set or not. Use buttons at the top of the column to enable or disable all the permissions in the set,
  • Description — the descriptions of every permission.

Fields Permissions and Tab Settings

In some cases, the content of options part of the table can be different for different permissions. For fields permissions and tab settings you can see the list of fields / tabs, and the column 'Enabled' is substituted with the column Visibility. It has three values that you can select from the drop-down menu:

  • Available Available — the item is available for a user with this permission,
  • Visible Visible — the item is visible for a user with this permission,
  • None None — the item isn't visible for user with this permission.

Fields permissions


The functionality of this tab is the same as for the Fields Level Security tab of the sObject editor.

Object Permissions

For objects permissions you can see the list of objects, and the column 'Enabled' is substituted with the column Modify and it has six checkboxes with different options for permissions:

  • read,
  • create,
  • edit,
  • delete,
  • view all,
  • modify all.

Object Permissions


These checkboxes can be mutually dependent. You can also set all the Quick actions:

  • Check all check all,
  • Uncheck all uncheck all,
  • Reset reset changes.
NB: In cases, if some object doesn't have all six checkboxes, but you've marked them, these changes won't be count as errors — an object simply won't get these statuses on Salesforce.

Saving changes

All the changed statuses are highlighted in yellow. To save your changes, click the Apply Apply button. All the changed data including dependencies will be sent to Salesforce. After this, The Welkin Suite will again retrieve all the data from Salesforce to get the table up-to-date.

In cases, if some errors occur, they will be displayed in the Error List Panel.

NB: Currently, there is no checking for conflicts during applying changes. In case, if someone edits the same cell as you edit and applies the changes after you, your changes will be overwritten.

You can also revert changes by the Refresh Refresh button. This action allows you to get the newest data from the Salesforce, but all your changes and filters will be canceled.

Getting help

The Welkin Suite is always ready to lend you a hand if you ever have questions about some functionality of the Fields tab or the process of accomplishing some tasks here. When you need to learn more about this tab or its elements, click on the Help Help icon in the top right corner of the window. You will get an opened page of The Welkin Suite's Documentation related to this functionality in your default browser.


Getting help

In this section:

This also may be useful:

Last modified: 2018/02/26 14:54

footer image